Skip to content

Character Competition – Winners Announced

International digital arts festival, NEoN, announces the winning entries of its character design competition. The winners have been chosen from over 500 international entries.
The winners of the NEoN digital arts festival’s character design competition are:
Industry Guru category:
David Rafael Leyva Silva
Illustrator, 37 years old, Peru
Character name : Guzzler
Layperson category:
Ivana Strukelj
Copywriter, 30 years old, Croatia
Character name : neOne-eyed Fred
For the kids category:
Josh Beech, Student
16 years old, Lincolnshire
Character name: Dot
The complete gallery of entries can be found online
The competition, which challenged entrants to create a unique design within a simple template, based on NEoN 2010’s theme of ‘character’, attracted well over 500 entries, from all around the world. Entrants included pupils aged between 11 and 16 from Invicta Grammar School, Maidstone in Kent, which entered the NEoN design competition as a school project.
“The response to the competition has been overwhelming. We had anticipated quite a lot of interest, thanks to the line-up of artists and designers taking part in this year’s festival, but we were not prepared for the hundreds and hundreds of entries which poured in, from all around the world.  We’re thrilled that so many people took the time to think about festival and create their own design.  We’ll be putting ALL of the entries up online for the world to see as soon as we possibly can.  We’d also like to say a huge thank you to everyone who entered,”said Donna Holford-Lovell, Chair of the NEoN organising committee.
The prizes for the design competition are suitably impressive.  The winner of each category will receive £100 cash prize, NEoN conference tickets, have their design uploaded to the Teetonic online gallery, have their design appear on NEoN marketing material and have their design printed on all NEoN staff t-shirts.  A further nine entries from each category have been selected by the NEoN judging panel to be entered into the TOP THIRTY T-SHIRT COMPETITION, which is being run in conjunction with Teetonic (  The designs will appear on the Teetonic website to be voted upon by the public. The design from each category with the most votes will be made into a t-shirt that will be available for purchase from the Teetonic site, and at the NEoN festival.
Visitors to the Teetonic website can vote for their favourite design over the next 3 weeks. The design which receives the most votes will be printed as Teetonic’s NEoN 2010 T shirt, with the designer receiving a t-shirt with his or her design on it, in addition to a share of the proceeds from all sales.
The judges of the NEoN design competition have been amazed by the calibre of the entrants.
“I have been overwhelmed by the quality and sheer quantity of entries to this competition. With over 500 entries from all corners of the world, judging this competition has been a very difficult task indeed but this has been my highlight of the NEoN 10 build up so far!” said Lyall Bruce, of Sooper Double D and member of the NEoN judging panel which included design duo, TADO, Scott Downie of Hungry Boy, and the highly respected designer, Fraser Maclean, among others.
The Top 10 to be put forward for Teetonic are: (voting for Teetonic will open in the next couple of days)
Industry Guru

David Leyva

Chris Dobson


Harry Gordon

Tan Howe Qin

Kenji Chai

Lee Shiau Fang

Li Edmund

Loc Lam

Michael Seludo


Ivana štrukelj

Atacan Gucluol

David Konsiczky

Faris Adhyatmiko

John storey

Lee Mun

Ryan Aubrey

Sander Meetalo

Steven powell

Teerawat palanitisena

For the Kids

Josh Beech

Abhilasha saikia

Alexandra Adams

Bethany Baker

Daisy Stillwell

Fay Hodgson

Harshita Bansal

Henry Beech

Katherline Thomas

Sid bishop

The complete gallery of entries can be found online